Steve Benton Memorial Award


2009 - Mark Kahan
2006 - William Plummer
2005 - Stephen Fantone

Description of the Award

The Award is presented to a individual who, in the judgment of the Executive Council has made a sustained and substantial contribution to the optics community in New England. Such contributions may be in the form of technical advances, managerial/business leadership, or service to the community.

The Award comprises a framed certificate and a contribution of [the amount should be determined annually by the Council] to the Brain Tumor Society [or other such charitable organization as deemed appropriate by the Council] made in honor of the recipient’s achievement (e.g., the contribution is made “in honor of Joe Optiker receiving the Steve Benton Memorial Award”).

The recipient of the award need not be a member of NES/OSA or OSA.

The Award is presented at the discretion of the Executive Council, but no more frequently than annually. The Award will be announced and presented at the Section’s annual business meeting.

Selection of Awardee

The President of the Section will appoint a standing nominating committee of at least three members of the section with the charter of identifying potential recipients of the award. The committee will report nominees to the Executive Council as said nominees are identified.

Approximately 1 month prior to the annual business meeting the Executive Council will consider all nominees for the award including both nominees identified by the nominating committee and any nominees put forth by members of the Executive Council or the Section in general. The council may select one or none of the nominees to receive the honor for the current year. Nominees not selected will be eligible for selection in the future. No individual may receive the award more than once. With rare exceptions, the award will be presented posthumously.